SSL Certificate


Drama Students Honored by NCTC Play Festival
Posted 03/26/2019 02:36PM

St. Timothy’s School drama students shined in their debut appearance at the Middle School Play Festival sponsored by the North Carolina Theatre Conference.

The day-long festival was held on March 23, 2019 at Union Pines High School in Cameron, NC. The STS drama program, led by Amy Murphy-Archer, presented Little Women at the festival. The ensemble received the following awards:

  • Festival Spirit Award
  • Theatre Arts Award: Excellence in Portrayal of Family Dynamics 
  • Outstanding Achievement in Design & Production, Sound Design: Dan Rajaratnam
  • Excellence in Acting: Amelia Edmonston

This year, over 400 students from 17 schools presented 20 productions at 2 regional sites across the state.

The students traveled to the festival site with their theatrical sets, costumes, and props. When their time came, the group had 45 minutes to set up, perform the play, and clear the stage. Following their performance, students received feedback from professional actors and directors with Broadway and Hollywood credits.

“The atmosphere at the Play Festival is positive and exciting, and students are filled with energy as they watch shows, learn from their peers and make new theatre friends,” said NCTC General Manager Amanda Clark.

According to Ms. Murphy-Archer, in order to compete in this festival, St. Timothy’s students dedicated their lunch and recess time, and even held rehearsals on Sunday afternoons. “Attending NCTC was a great time,” remarked Ms. Murphy-Archer. The students got to perform for peers and learn from watching other shows. It was a special day full of fun, hard work, and learning more about humanity through the stories. I am very proud of them.”

Congratulations to the following drama students:

  • Joshua Baird, actor
  • Matthew Bain, actor
  • Evan Buckley, understudy
  • Luke Crafton, actor
  • Alex Kilani, actor
  • Lola Holderness, understudy 
  • Bailey Krepps, actress
  • Katie Carrigan, understudy
  • Katy Versfeld, actress
  • Audrey Jones, actress
  • Catherine Cobb, actress 
  • Maggie Scheer, actress
  • Amelia Edmonston, actress
  • Margaret Lowrance, actress
  • Dan Rajaratnam, stage manager, sound design and sound tech

St. Timothy’s
Many of our photos are courtesy of Jennifer Robertson Photography.Privacy Policy
powered by finalsite